Which IH to look for, Any Input Appreciated

gwoswald

Hello Everyone,

I have been fairly regularly following this forum for a while and have really enjoyed in insight and knowledge. I am hoping that I might be able to gain a little bit of that for myself with this post.

Quick introduction for some relevant back ground info. I live in Wisconsin and my family and I are moving up to a smallish farm in northern WI. At this point there are probably 25-30 tillable acres, with a possibility of reclaiming another 5 or 10. I made a lot of hay as a teenager, but wouldn't consider myself a farmer by any means at this point, but my wife and I are excited to get dirty and work hard at our place. Looking to the future, there is some family land that we very well may have the opportunity to work up, up to maybe 100 or so acres. I don't expect to be farming full time (metallurgist/quality engineer by trade), but my wife and I want to have some live stock at some point, and at very minimum, maintain the hay fields and likely grow some other crops (corn, wheat, etc.) as the want/need arises. So likely some tilling, planting and what not.

Currently, I have a Farmall H, but that is likely going to be the lawn mower (wood L306 will be installed in the next months), and really isn't sufficient for any serious field work, at least if I want to get it done in a shorter amount of time (likely will be farming part time, so time in the seat may be at a premium). My Dad does have a 986 that I can use if needed, but I'd prefer to have my own tractor, so I don't have to drive it back and forth (about 10 miles round trip), and because I like having my own equipment.

After doing a lot of reading on this forum and other forums, I think my choices (in order of preference) would be as follows:

1) 766 Diesel

2) 756D

3) 656D or gas

4) 560 Gas