Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

orionbbs

75' Loadstar Firetruck turned classic car hauler

I am a vintage race car driver and restorer of old original NASCARs. I've been looking for a very long time for an interesting project, which is to turn a cool old truck into a car hauler (ramp truck) for my vintage race cars. I just picked myself up a really neat one. A 1975 IH Loadstar with a 392 gas engine, 5 speed 4x4. It only has 50k miles on her and was bought new from the fire dept. I purchased her from.

Long story short. I think its going to be a cool project and if there is interest here I'd like to post updates from time to time? Pictures and probably video as she goes from working fire girl to another kind of working girl, hauling very cool old race cars including the real-deal 1965 Impala NASCAR pictured below that raced in the Daytona 500 in 65'

Info on the car can be seen here including the restoration we did in under 30 days for the Monterey Historics in 2010: http://NASCARImpala.com

I do have a question: I am considering a diesel upgrade since I'm told I can only expect 3-4mpg with the gas motor @ 50mph, I'd like a little better hauling performance and mileage if I can. I've done a bit of research and it looks like I can fit a Detroit 6v92/73 in her without modifying the floor but man do those things make a racket! I'd like to stick with a International Diesel like a DT360 or 466 but then I'd have to cut the floor up? Is there any option other then that? The 7.3/6.9 IHI looked like a possibility but I'm told those motors won't hold up over time and with a medium duty truck load. Any other ideas?

thanks!

shaun

Photos of the Firetruck today:

vp3675923_2_large.jpg

vp3675923_1_large.jpg

Impala race car she will be hauling around

046_M020099.jpg

I am no help with the conversions. I do know that you have the tilt hood. I have one and it is fantastic. It has to help with any conversions you try.