Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

hoodeleydoo

your opinions on Fleetstar 6-71 with allison auto

Hi guys,

I am looking at this truck to buy. I never owned a 2 cycle diesel before. I heard a lot about the 6-71. I heard there are a lot of parts available and are pretty cheap. I heard the allison auto trannys from back then werent so good. I have no actual evidence or experience.

The truck is a fleetstar 2070A that was a fire truck. the body is really nice, no rust on the frame either. The untility body woul dcome off and I will put a flatbed or small sided dump on it.

can anyone give me their experineces and advice on the engines and the truck. what to look for etc?

is the 6-71 any good? reliable? power? etc?

I think its came with the detroit from the factory. I would make it a flatbed dump.

I need to haula 10 ton trailer and put a dump on it.

thanks!!

Kevin

post-6834-1219142897_thumb.jpg

If you understand the 6-71 is only good for about 210 HP without a turbo and about 250 HP with a turbo, the truck will most likely do a good job for you.

I have a GMC Brigadier 10-wheel dump truck with a 6-71/Road Ranger. When I get to any hill I have to start rowing through the gears. Even still, it will outrun anything of a like size with a gas engine.

It will certainly handle any load you can put on it in combination with whatever you can load onto a 10-ton trailer. Just be aware you won't be setting any speed records.

If the price is right, it should work really well for you.

Since it has seen fire service work it will most likely have had good maintenance and will not have been abused too severely. In other words, it should have a lot of good life left in it.

Good luck.

thanks for the notes mark.

can you slap on a turbo without changing pistons or upgrading anything else?

I'm not sure extra power will be noticed but maybe the efficiency would in fuel mileage.

thanks again