semi trucks

Hi, guys. I am looking for a semi and trailer to haul grain. Have been using a 66 Ford with a 16 ft box, but 350 bushels ata time is not enough. I have very little experience with semis and was looking for advice/opinions on what brands,models ,engines are your favorites. I probably would put on less than 3000 miles a year and am looking at mid to late eighties models. Any help would be appreciated, thanks, Rob

How far are you hauling? It might be cheaper to hire it hauled than to buy a truck for that little bit of running. Just my thoughts, because it costs a bunch to license and insure a semi as compared to a straight truck.

Good place to start- conventional day cab with real low end gears for starting out heavy loads in soft fields. Some of the things I learned real quick years ago that would have been real nice to have in a farm semi tractor. I had a cabover with a sleeper and lo gear was not that low and had to get an assist from a large tractor more than once when she would settle down in the field.

I've started looking a little bit as well. Jason is right they get nickel and dimey when they get old unless they had way above average care. Personally I would look for a Kenworth or a Peterbuilt they will cost more but are a lot higher quality and will have less "little things" going wrong.

I know I'm on a red site but I think the newer IH trucks are junk, they are like a Frieghtliner or Volvo with very cheap compoents in the cab. The old IH's like the Loadstars and Transtars were excellent trucks but are getting way to old now and will always have something wrong.

I would look for a Kenworth or a Peterbuilt they will cost more but are a lot higher quality and will have less "little things" going wrong.

If you only knew how untrue that is.... :huh::lol::rolleyes:

MANY MANY times I have wished for a decent straight truck and a couple nice 400 bushel wagons.