Having to top up brake fluid reservoir on a 2009 Farmall 75C

jimb2

I am asking this question for a friend that has a 2009 Farmall 75C with Cab and 4WD and about 3000 Hrs.
He has to keep topping up the hydraulic brake reservoir.
He doesn't see any obvious leaks.
He has a service manual and before doing any repair work he is wondering if this is a common problem on the Farmall 75C and the similar NH T4.75?
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks
JimB

Why does he need to keep topping it off? Is it because it looks low or because the brakes are not working?

Typically the brakes are part of the overall hydraulic system on the tractor, and the fluid level is maintained by the hydraulic system. It may be different on these tractors, I'm not an expert on them, that's just typical.

On the old 5xxx series Maxxum tractors, there is a standpipe in the bottom of the reservoir that slides down into the overflow hose and lets the level get too low. You have to periodically stuff that standpipe back up into the reservoir. I would be disappointed if they hadn't fixed that flaw by now on newer tractors, but then again it would not surprise me if it was still a problem.

Matt, I have the service manual for the NH version and it appears that the brake reservoir is like a car, a stand-alone system but uses hydraulic oil instead of brake fluid. My friend never complained about loosing brakes just on regular checks the fluid level in the reservoir requires topping up. The actual brake disks appear to be in the rear axle similar to IH 74,84,85,95 series tractors.

I don't know this tractor. It sounds like there are two possibles. Brakes are wearing down causeing pistons to move out requiring make up fluid. Or leak is internal to the axle. Does amount of use have anything to do with amount of fluid lost? Will it lose fluid during periods of non use?