1066 hard to restart when warmed up

ChrisMo

Hello all, I am having a problem with my 1066. Starts great at ambient temp and runs good. When at operating temp it will stall when I try to set it to low idle and once it stalls it will crank and not start until it cools back down. It will low idle fine when the engine is below normal operating temp. Any ideas?

Head in pump is worn out. Start saving for a pump rebuild, until then, just leave it running if you can lol!

Was afraid it would be in the pump. I am new to diesels. All of my other tractors have been gas. The 1066 has good compression and has air so must be fuel related. Has about 4800 hours on what I believe to be the original pump. Just got the tractor this spring. Do you think pouring cold water one the pump would help? (Brother had a Toyota Celica that liked to vapor like so we always had to keep a jug of cold water with us to poor on the engine mounted fuel pump)

Well, they always say "don't wash a diesel".   This is because cold water on a hot pump or injector can "shock" the pump enough to make the tolerances so tight something locks up.   Ie, hot pump housing, hot piston, no problem.  Hit the outside of pump with cold water, now hot piston, cold housing....housing is now too tight on hot piston, and "you just created junk".....  So NO...I wouldn't do that.

Start it and leave it run until you can let it cool off naturally.   And send the pump to Injpumped above for rebuild ASAP....so you don't damage the rest of the engine.  These pumps are not bad to get rebuilt, then you will have a good runner for another 5K hours.  I consider getting a pump/turbo rebuilt just standard maintence, like a brake job on a car.   Thankfully the cycle is usually a lot longer!

• Like 1