Older Round baler.............Favorites?

If you were going to buy an older round baler, to bale mostly grass hay, and maybe some corn stalks what would be your choice?  Ability to wrap with net would be a plus.  Bale size not much of an issue.  

• Replies 76
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

You like to work on stuff ...... get a vermeer!

Yea I  understand and yes lotsa advantages to net wrap,if I was buying new it would be net wrap.But when my baler goes and needs replaced  background feeders come in and no more making hay. But l  han

I’ve been using a NH 658 twine auto tie for a couple years now doing  about 100 bales a year.  Pretty straightforward mechanical machine, no electronics except a switch and a buzzer.   Previous owner

Posted Images

I'm happy with my 535 Deere. Simple and easy to maintain. Eats hay. Mine is twine only but they can be had with net. Neighbors have a 688 New Holland that has probably 20000 bales on it. It's been very good to them.

45 minutes ago, TP from Central PA said:

If you were going to buy an older round baler, to bale mostly grass hay, and maybe some corn stalks what would be your choice?  Ability to wrap with net would be a plus.  Bale size not much of an issue.  

You like to work on stuff ...... get a vermeer!

• Haha 3

When I was baling. I had a Claas Rollant 66. Was simple to operate ran it behind 806 and a Massy Fergson 175 when 806 was on bigger job. Always done a gone  job for me.

• Like 1

530/535 John Deere, heat balers, makes a really nice bale, but the monitor is still optional. I have one of each, and have nothing but heat things to say. The twin tie on the 535 is a little faster, but otherwise not many differences.

go net and keep bales inside  otherwise just wasting time hay and $

also  what you can find good support for (only getting worse) or alot in local area to pick up for parts

98' or newer