1953 Super C keeps burning out 12 volt starter solenoids

I Have been needing to replace starter solenoids about every 4 months or so. At first they start breaking down by not sending power to the starter momentary switch (not stock) which is a push button type switch, then when that stops working , i can take a jumper wire to cross the two main terminals on the solenoid when the power is turned on and that works for a while then over time nothing will work.  Could the Alternator be putting out too much power burning these  things out? I'm not good with electrical. This tractor has been converted to 12 volt.

96103480_1524141074414707_7309176117426913280_n.jpg

• Like 1

Take an electrical meter put it on DC volts and check your battery voltage holding your probes to each battery post while it’s running, not sure if your neg or pos ground, hold the black probe to whichever post runs to ground, you should read between 13.8-14.6 volts, that will tell you if your alternator is charging properly, how many wire alternator do you have 3 or 1?

Can you take a picture of the solenoid that keeps failing, you say not stock? How much cranking does it take to start? Are you cables and connections good?