Mechanic & Fabrication Bravery?

For those of us who fix things, how brave are you? Do you stick with what you know, or are you up to almost anything? We do a lot of the same things in our shop. Common stuff and some not so much. We will attempt pretty much anything that belongs to us I guess. How about you guys, anything that scares the hooha out of you? I guess if someone came to us asked us to overhaul their 1155 Massey or worse their John Junk we would be really skittish. Pretty much only do IH. Will fabricate almost anything that isn't too large. So how bout y'all?

KIMG1963.jpg

KIMG1686.jpg

KIMG1620.jpg

KIMG1566.jpg

KIMG1548.jpg

• Like 10

Nothing scares me for myself. Mechanical stuff we pass the more involved things on to other places because of time constraints

• Like 2

When I worked at the farm as a mechanic I wouldn't hesitate to tear into stuff. I shyed away from engine work just because one little mistake can cost big dollars. I did a few head gaskets and such on engines I was familiar with but anything I didn't know I sent out. I did do a major overhaul on a 466 which was one of my proudest acheivements there but I had an engine shop that was willing to help me if I had questions. As far as other tractor repairs, as long as I could get a hold of the parts break down and pages from a service manual, again I had a good dealer that was willing to help, I would go for it. The only thing that I was apprehensive about was rebuilding the kernel processor for the forage harvesters just because the John Deere dealer told us that nobody else did their own. With the amount of material that goes through it and the speed that those rolls turn and lastly because of the timeliness of a short harvest window a failure of the kp is not good. I just took my time while rebuilding it and it worked well.