Ultrasonic cleaner tips?

Red Collector

I picked up a small ultrasonic cleaner the other day after being curious about one for a while. One thing I've heard is how good they are at cleaning carbs, so I think one of my first jobs will be a carb off an M that I would like to rebuild. My question for guys that use them is, what cleaners do you use in them. I thought about Simple Green or something similar for dirty/ greasy stuff, but is there something better for all the little ports and jets on a carb? Also, I've seen guys using Evapo Rust on rusty items... does this do a better job than just an overnight soak, or is it just quicker? Any other tips, pointers, or observations are welcome. Thanks!

I have used simple green, water and vinegar (not together) all worked well, my friend uses Spray Nine cleaner he gets at the hardware store, he is a mechanic by trade, he gets the tough jobs the local power sports dealer takes in, he works from home, as fussy as they come. I have considered using some of the biodegradable degreaser, beware of really caustic stuff as it may become dangerous or flammable at temperature. 
ive been happy with simple green for carburetors and gun parts so far .  

• Like 1

And to simplify cleanup you can put the part and cleaner in a jar with a lid on it and put just water in the cleaner.  The waves will transmit through the glass.  Depending on the size cleaner I have used a drinking glass set in the tank.  It just has to be heavy enough not to float and tip over.

• Like 1

4 hours ago, Rawleigh99 said:

And to simplify cleanup you can put the part and cleaner in a jar with a lid on it and put just water in the cleaner.  The waves will transmit through the glass.  Depending on the size cleaner I have used a drinking glass set in the tank.  It just has to be heavy enough not to float and tip over.

Would a ziplock bag work in place of the jar?