Looked at the 5088 today.

Me and dad went to the dealer to look at the 5088 today. The tractor started and ran really well. The sheet metal was in great shape. Repainted 16 years ago. No oil leaks. The cab interior needs a cab kit. The head liner is held up with duck tape. The seat is shot with the new seat assembly to be installed. Floor mat is full off holes. The tractor has 7966 hrs on it. Parking brake is a linkage and hold well on slopes. My concern is the tractor has a test harness installed. The transmission shifts with no issues. Engine was majored about 6600 hrs after air cleaner tube cracked and sucked dirt in ruining the engine. Dealer is wanting 21900.00 plus 250.00 delivery fee. With the lack of the sentry should I run and not look back. What are your opinions about it?

I will start by saying that I own a 5088, but I am not an expert, there are others on here that have much more experience with the 88 series than I do. Mine has the sentry, I know several people who run a test harness, mostly because they haven’t had the extra cash for a new sentry. I have been told the big key with using the test harness is to run the tractor like a gear shift tractor, put it in a gear and leave it there. I would be more interested in whether or not the tranny has been updated, that is the key. With the hours that tractor has, it probably has, but ask the dealer, and ask for documentation. Fresh motor is a plus. As for the price, I have no idea where you are located, and that makes a ton of difference. I did well on mine, 5400 hrs, good tranny, good motor, sentry, original paint, cab needing a little work. Got it for under 10k at an auction sale, not saying the price on the one your are looking at is necessarily out of line, but I’d sure like some more answers on the tranny as far as the update, etc.