Eastern NC auction 21 IH tractors

Lots of goodies. Thanks for sharing.  What are the buses used for?  Something with tobacco?  Lots and lots of tobacco grown in neighboring Lancaster county but typically on small scale by Amish.  I'm no tobacco expert but just guessing the limiting factor for farms increasing acreage here is drying space in the barns.

The busses have conveyor belts in the bottom for unloading. The tobacco leaves are dumped on the floor of the busses for transport to the packing system. The leaves are unloaded  on a conveyor at the barn and distributed into a large metal box. The box is slid into the barn and hot air is forced through the box to cure the tobacco.

• Thanks 1

I see the X74 tractor says tobacco special on the side - what makes it different from the others?  I'm guessing axles and tractor height, similar to an orchard tractor they sell now a days???  Since us up in Eastern Ontario don't have tobacco farms (or at least not that type of tobacco farm, tends to be more of the whacky tobacco these days!!) never seen a tobacco special before.

What a collection of Red Iron!  Sad to see all that green mossy stuff on the rims and grills.

47 minutes ago, Mountain Heritage said:

I see the X74 tractor says tobacco special on the side - what makes it different from the others?  I'm guessing axles and tractor height, similar to an orchard tractor they sell now a days???  Since us up in Eastern Ontario don't have tobacco farms (or at least not that type of tobacco farm, tends to be more of the whacky tobacco these days!!) never seen a tobacco special before.

What a collection of Red Iron!  Sad to see all that green mossy stuff on the rims and grills.

I saw one for sale once didn’t see anything different on outside. They were a handy tobacco tractor. 

Interesting lineup of equipment. Serious question... Would a good sized tobacco farm need that many 66/86 sized machines to operate?  I understand cultivating with the smaller machines.