welding helmet question

a few years ago we got a jackson welding helmet from fastenal, supposed to go from 9 to 13. i think its coming to the end of its useful ness , so i grabbed the old fixed shade spare helmet, a lot better, so for occasional use what works> i was looking at harbor freight and northern tool, i only weld very occasional, so whats the difference between the 50 dollar helmets and the 150 dollar ones or more. i even welded with the wire welder with the old spare one and i could see again, i do need the 9 setting going blind i guess, thanks

I weld with a $50 harbor freight helmet and it works fine for my needs. I can even turn the shade off and I use it when I cut with the torch. I think it's a good helmet for the $$$ but I'm not a professional, if I made my living at it I would probably want something better.

I can’t answer your question specifically, i do know that mine was an economy model from airgas, dad decided it was flashing me and threw a fit, bought himself a. 450 dollar helmet and gave me his 300 dollar helmet, of the 3 my economy has photo sensors equivalent to my calculator, mine has drastically larger and several more sensors and a much larger lens to “receive” light from the arc even though the actual see through part isn't that big. Dads has photo receivers both above and below for better and more reliable sensing and the see through part of his is much larger.  

• Like 1