International 500c leaking trans oil

Hello and thank you for adding me to the forum. I am looking at a 1970-71 International 500C, gas engine with the torque converter. Seller says it started leaking trans fluid around the bell housing area. Any idea what this could be? Would parts be available for this machine? I'm a bit of a newbie with the crawlers so bare with me. I am mechanically inclined so I'm not worried about doing the work, I am worried about part accessibility. Seller wants $2 grand. Does this seem like a decent deal?

20201017_103606.jpg

20201017_103524.jpg

20201017_103548.jpg

20201017_103557.jpg

1 hour ago, mx120 said:

Would parts be available for this machine?

Not likely through IH.  Dresser might have seals and easy to find parts, but pretty much everything on that machine would have to be rebuilt. 

1 hour ago, mx120 said:

Seller says it started leaking trans fluid around the bell housing area.

Could be a number of things.  Without seeing the leak and doing some inspecting, who knows.  May just be a shaft seal on the converter.  Might be the converter.  Might be a hose up top leaking out down.  Maybe the owner doesn't know his fluids and it's engine oil.  Hard to say. 

1 hour ago, mx120 said:

Seller wants $2 grand. Does this seem like a decent deal?

I've seen these for sale before.  That's about going rate.  Probably a decent price if you can fix it yourself and it is in otherwise good shape.  

20 minutes ago, J-Mech said:

Not likely through IH.  Dresser might have seals and easy to find parts, but pretty much everything on that machine would have to be rebuilt. 

What do you mean everything would need rebuilt? 

Any suggestions on if the machine is worth messing with? Going to go look at it again in the morning. Anything in particular I should look for? The Tracks look pretty thin as far as the (tread). I'm not really sure though.