The Great Pumpkin Patch

I started harvesting my pumpkins this week. The crop looks outstanding. I have a lot of good carving and decorative pumpkins as well as enough to sell by the truck load for deer. 

This is my first year raising pumpkins.  It was something I always thought about doing so after purchasing my tractor this spring I decided to give it a shot. Plus it was a way to get The farming out of my system. The first picture was taken the 21st of July, the second was taken today. I have about two acres to play with and I only used maybe a third of it. If the pumpkins sell well I will most likely do the whole thing next year.

20200723_175321.jpg

20200913_165630.jpg

• Like 8

Looks good.  If your selling for carving be careful those stems don't degrade while on the vine or off.  Just a wild  guess but I'm thinking powdery mildew killed your vines.  

• Like 2

I just figured with the growing year we had they reached maturity, the vast majority of the pumpkins already turned color. The plants were healthy up to about two weeks ago and then I started to notice the vines wilting from the inside out. As I said earlier, this is my first year and i probably have a lot to learn. Insects were also a problem for me this year, especially the cucumber beatles.

Look in the stems closest to the roots for squash vine borers, they will cause sudden and fast wilting of the plant. The stem will appear hollow and rotted out inside and you may find the larvae inside. My understanding is that one should not plant pumpkins or similar squash in the same spot each year, rotate with grain or another non host crop. This helps in minimizing insect populations.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

What TomH said. Had that happen last year. Don't take long for vine borers to decimate a patch.

• Like 3

Use a buck rake ?

• Like 1