farmall C hydraulic Issue

The hydraulics on my C quit working the other day. I was mowing and they were working normal but when I went to raise the mowed when I finished I got nothing. After some inspection I realized they my hydraulic fluid was low and my engine oil level had risen, so I figured the pump was leaking hydraulic fluid into the engine and needed to be rebuilt. When I pulled the hydraulic pump off I found that the nut that hold the gear on the pump was missing. I found it in the housing on the tractor at which point I inspected inside the housing and found that the gear looked worn down or broken on each tooth. I admit that I am no tractor mechanic and have never looked at any of these gears on one of my tractor before, so my question is, is this bread supposed to look like this or is it ruined?

I don't want to go further in rebuilding or replacing the pump if the gear is ruined.

IMG_0955.JPG

• Like 1
  • Sad 1

My concern about replacing that gear is that, if I understand correctly that is the camshaft gear. Replacing that appears to require putting the engine on stands, separating the radiator and front axle, removing the fan and two pullies, removing the governor and pulling off the cover. I am also assuming the timing would then have to be set correctly once the new camshaft gear was in place.

I am afraid that might be biting off more than I can chew by myself. I am wondering if I should just sell it as is and cut my loses. 

Well you understand what needs to be done. I would think you could hire someone to repair it for less than it will cost to replace. If your looking for an excuse to own something else. You have it.

• Like 1
1 hour ago, Blee25 said: