Hey guys, I’m looking to get into no tilling beans and cover crops more. The neighbor has a Krause no till drill and is super pleased with it, and just from looking at them they’re definitely really heavy.  

Anyone have one? How’s maintenance and repairs on them, any known weak spots? 

ive seen 5200NT and 5250NT drills locally. Any difference between the two or one better than the other?

Would a 1486 pull a fifteen footer around on my hills? Pic for reference.... we’ve got hills

F2D4A1BD-3182-4AE7-966A-DEBB1925F0F9.jpeg

• Like 5
12 minutes ago, Dasnake said:

This can’t help cuz I know nothing, but what a great pic. Where ru?

Palmerton PA. 30 minutes north of Allentown pa. View through the gap is of the Lehigh Valley about a month ago

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

In all reality they don’t pull real hard. I would think your 14 would pull it without any issues. If traction is an issue then put duals on it. 

• Like 1

I have no experience with the krause but we are in the mountains in NC and our ground is very similar to yours, maybe a little steeper and I have pulled a 7 foot great plains no till drill with a caseih 885 (72 pto hp) with no trouble. Then a hay buster 10 foot no till drill with a kubota 125x. You should be fine with a 1486 on a 15 footer. 

I have no experience with a krause but I have been around a landfoll drill. Those drills are heavy, like 20,000 pounds loaded, this one was a 30 foot. We usually drilled with a magnum 225 cvt, it pulled it ok. The mx270 pulled it the best. The jd 4650 could do it on flat ground but forget about it if there were hills. I didn't really notice the tractor pulling any harder when I lowered the openers into the ground.