Dug into the PTO on my 656 which has never worked since i purchased it.  The fluid is full and i changed the filter.  I am going to change the fluid but wanted to get this fixed before changing in case I have to pull the PTO.  I was hoping the small pin had broke but unfortunately this was not the case.  When you engage the PTO absolutely nothing happens....no sound no trying to start.  So on to the next thing.  Going to try and check pressures if I can get a set-up made with a gauge.  From what I have read 270 lbs is "normal" with no more than a 40 lb drop on to off.  I guess my big question is I see a lot of information/posting about the pressure relief valve.  Everything else on the tractor works so I have a hard time thinking this could be the issue but I am no expert.  My hitch does drop down when not running.  Seems this could be related to a leak in the return line above the PTO?  Can this have that great of an effect on hydraulic pressure to where the PTO would not want to engage?  Any information is appreciated !!!  Thanks!!!

The PTO has its own pump.   Your pickup tube could have fallen off or the screen plugged.   The threads on the spool didn’t back off so it is not engaging all the way is it??

8 hours ago, IowaFarmall said: