1680 cracking corn

Tried picking corn with my 1680 for the first time today and I’m having trouble with it cracking the kernels. I’ve been running 1460’s and 1440’s for 30 years and never had this kind of trouble even in weak corn. Although this corn is very weak and very dry. Here’s where I am so far. Speciality rotor, large wire concaves with every other wire removed. (Only thing I didn’t try was to remove every other wire from the concave extensions...maybe I should have). Bar stock grates. Started with everything set to book settings and slowly made adjustments In small increments. Rotor rpm now down to 100, concaves open to #8 setting. Kept opening bottom sieve thinking it was returning too much. Bottom sieve now open as far as it will go. Everything thing I’ve done has helped but still cracking. I’ve gone from corn meal to large pieces of cracked kernels. Was looking in the book when I got home and the only thing I’m not certain of is the vane setting.  I’m about to fire up my old 1460 and give her ****. If anyone has any suggestions I’m getting desperate 

I’m not a IH combine guy, but 100 rpm rotor speed is very slow and will grind corn at that speed in a gleaner so I’m guessing it would also in a axle flow. I would guess you should be in the high 200’s to low 300’s to move the material through faster. 

9 minutes ago, NY1468 said:

I’m not a IH combine guy, but 100 rpm rotor speed is very slow and will grind corn at that speed in a gleaner so I’m guessing it would also in a axle flow. I would guess you should be in the high 200’s to low 300’s to move the material through faster. 

Normal setting is 400-500 according to the book. Normally run the old 1460 about 450 which is where I started and was making corn meal. Of course that was before removing every other wire from the concaves. I believe I was at about 300 after removing the wires.