FARMALL FIXER

Smoking a brisket

Bought a beef from my son inlaw , nothing better than home grown meat .  Going to have the locker save the brisket and going to try my luck at smoking it on my Treager pellet grill . Being an absolute newbie to cooking a brisket and not sure how it will go . I guess it will either turn out edible or the Labrador will be eating good for awhile . Any tips or receipes any of you that have done one would like to share ?

I have competition brand pellets that are a blend of different woods .

• Like 1

I cover mine with Carolina season and sprinkle Rays Cajon on. Smoke @ 250 for 12hrs, wrap in foil for another 6-8 hrs. 

• Thanks 1

50 minutes ago, Finney said:

I cover mine with Carolina season and sprinkle Rays Cajon on. Smoke @ 250 for 12hrs, wrap in foil for another 6-8 hrs. 

What do you use for wood ?

Do you trim the fat ?

Man that sounds great.  Few years ago I was watching The Pioneer Woman show with the girls.  She made a tenderloin whole.  I never seen that.  Wife got cook book and next dairy open heifer we had I asked butche rto save the tenderloin whole.  Man...about a hour and grown men tear up eating it.  Just in oven since I dont have a smoker.  Even 3 year old cows are great!  Kids get excited when I take one out of freezer now.

Friends a huge traeger guy.  Says their recipes are great as well fyi.  Him and his wife use that thing 4 days a week!  Meatloaf even!

• Like 1

I've made 1 before on my Green Mountain grill, same concept as a Traeger. Used mesquite pellets but don't remember what rub I used. It took a looong time but was delicious. Just butcher a steer this fall, hope to make the brisket this spring.

• Thanks 1

I had one I was saving for the special brisket rites. Wife grabbed it one day and tossed it in the crockpot with some onions,carrots and potatoes. Turned out fantastic. Don't stress it to much.

• Like 1