Sign in to follow this  
Gearclash

06-86 Driveline Question

This is a long shot, I know, may not be practical. But. Is there a place in the internal PTO driveline on these tractors where is might be possible to add another power take off?  The purpose would be to supply shaft power to a front PTO. Hydraulic power won’t cut it, and I’m not sure how well It would work to take the power of the rear PTO as there will be another PTO load back there that will need to be independently controlled. This would be a system in near daily use so reliability is critical. Modern front PTO take their power from the front of the engine.  

I'm not a mechanic but I'm fairly sure......your not going to make that happen.  The live shaft is burried through the center of the speed trans and and the covers in the side, such as were a 4wd box would go, couldn't ever access that shaft. 

29 minutes ago, stronger800 said:

I'm not a mechanic but I'm fairly sure......your not going to make that happen.  The live shaft is burried through the center of the speed trans and and the covers in the side, such as were a 4wd box would go, couldn't ever access that shaft. 

Well, that’s why I ask.  I haven’t been into one these tractors either.  It seems to me the best place to catch PTO power would be in TA housing where the service pump is.  I’m not afraid of making some serious modifications to the housings to make it work, but if its more cost effective to find a newer tractor that has front PTO then that is the way I would go.  I’m just kind of partial to older iron for this particular job.

I have to agree with Stronger.

I know for sure on the 06/56/66 series IH's the PTO is buried deep.

For what you want, a bi-directional would do the trick.