Sign in to follow this  
vtfireman85

What exactly is it, and how does someone get rid of it?

This stuff grows in the edges of my friends pond, it looks like giant grass, but it’s wicked invasive. We dig it out every few years but the roots go 5 feet deep in some cases it can be pumped down further but just digging them out doesn’t cut it. I don’t even think roundup would do it

F98E834A-3862-46DF-B02B-359AF0E677BC.jpeg

97571F24-D249-4121-8EFF-85AC8CC48534.jpeg

EC2C7CE1-B453-482C-B99A-006AF334A560.jpeg

If it is a grass, a glyphosate product should do a fair job I would think. Chemical companies make aquatic herbicides for ponds and lakes also but I have no experience with them. 

It looks like a big version of what we call sprangle top in rice. Thx-Ace

At the base it’s about as big as a sharpie 

I am told Roundup with some crop oil and it works on most pond weeds. We are fortunate enough to not need anything other than the kids doing the weeding ....... Mom's pond "had" some unwanted cattails

Screenshot_2019-09-22-21-13-20.png

• Like 2
  • Haha 1

6 minutes ago, bitty said:

I am told Roundup with some crop oil and it works on most pond weeds. We are fortunate enough to not need anything other than the kids doing the weeding ....... Mom's pond "had" some unwanted cattails

Screenshot_2019-09-22-21-13-20.png

I hope you have a pressure washer 

• Haha 1

1 minute ago, vtfireman85 said:

I hope you have a pressure washer 

It was the youngest's birthday. Was her best birthday party ever ! :)

• Like 1

The Glyphosate 5.4 herbicide is absorbed into the plants and kills the roots. Other methods for Phragmites control include mowing, disking, dredging, flooding, draining, burning, and grazing, but this can sometimes make the problem even worse, as the Phragmite roots are often left intact.

• Thanks 2