CC 128 K301A crankshaft trouble

Hello, 

I'm new to Cadets but work on my Father in laws Cub and I have a TD-62 so you could say I kinda like Internationals. my problem is my new to me Cadet 128 spit a front PTO bolt and upon disassembly among other things I found that someone in its past had welded the crankshaft key in place on the crank. After some grinding and a few whacks with a chisel   I found that the key-way is all torn out on the welded side. to be fair some of it could have been from chiseling the weld off, but the weld is there for some reason so? it looks like a rebuild will be in order anyway so I was thinking of replacing the crankshaft unless it can be economically be repaired, of which I have no idea, and if it must be replaced the question is do I need a K301A crank specifically from a cadet or can I use any K301A crank with a 1" PTO shaft? any help will definitely be appreciated.

Thanks

As J-mech confirmed a couple days ago, K-series crankshafts are cast iron. Tough to weld a steel drive key to a cast iron crankshaft. The starter/generator pulley engages that key that wallowed out the keyway, and the drive cup on the pulley drives the PTO clutch. There's no keyway and key between the PTO clutch and crankshaft. Every time I've had the starter/generator pulley off I've tack welded the pulley to the hub the keyway is in,  every one I've had has come loose, easier to weld before it comes loose.  And when you replace the key, put a long piece in, inch and a half, two inches, spread the stress out more keeps the keyway from wallowing out.