oleman

Using truck air brake system for air power tools

I am new to operating a vehicle with air brakes.  What is the down side to using the towing air connector to power air tools?   I am assuming the truck would be parked and only parking brake set when using the air tools. Specifically I want to use a large air wrench to remove and install wheels, hopefully never.  Also general air tools to work on other machinery (often) .  OK, it is an expensive air compressor powered by a 505 CI engine  but have to have it  anyway. Basic question is would the extra wear and tear on the engine make a difference in the service live of vehicle?

The biggest problem I can see is going to be lack of volume to run a big impact—unless you add a big air tank to boost your supply volume. Otherwise it should be OK-as you said may not be the most efficient, but you will always have it with you if you need it out on the road. 

• Like 1

We used to run an air wrench occasionally off of our Mack truck. As stated above the reserve capacity is lacking. Put a female coupler on the dry tank and attach a hose there

• Like 1

Ditto on the volume. I used it for a nail gun off my bucket truck. Truck was idling anyway but ended up running  a couple hundred feet of hose when I switched to staging and ladders for the project. I had the same idea for running an impact but found it just ran out of air too quickly. Using mostly battery impact now anyway.

• Like 1

That's what we used for an air compressor on the custom combine crew, as we had no other with us.

A friend of mine uses the air system on his truck (International,  of course) to fill tires, run an impact or bead breaker. Worked on my Farmall M rear tires! 😁

• Like 1