Newbie needs help with hydraulic issue b414

Hi all...I am VERY new to anything tractor related above riding mowers and just acquired a B414 from an estate who knew nothing about it so I am on my own for the most part.

Have had it a week or so...everything worked but I wanted to do some routine maintenance...changed all fluids, greased zerks etc.

Have been using it for the last couple of days doing brush hogging...seems to work decent enough although power steering has some issues still.

Parked it last night at 9:30 p.m...went out this morning, took filler plug off to add Hy trans fluid due to leak around suction filter. Poured a bit in the funnel and to my surprise it was FULL already.

I know I only added three gallons to the resevoir and then measured it with a stick so I could have the approximate three inch level as instructed on youtube video.

I decided to put plug back in and start it to see if all was well and I have NO hydraulics at all...I moved levers back and forth several times for about 30 seconds then got worried and came here to seek advice.

Again I am clueless to this..so any and all help is greatly appreciated. I do have the manuals but they assume I should already have more knowledge than I have to start with I am afraid. 

20190603_070201.thumb.jpeg.d20fc68684323860501c19bdc22ee2c9.jpeg

• Replies 154
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Thank you for the reply. The slow / fast valve on mine is actually non operative right now and is always in the fast position I guess...the other valve to shut off the fluid is working fine and I double checked that one.

My main concern is the fluid level being so high...it should only register about three inches high when using a stick according to what I have been told.

If it is totally full then there is no room for expansion and bad things can happen I guess.