JBull

175C losing trans fluid into crankcase

I've checked the drain line as well as the vent and they seem fine. I can freely blow air through each of them. Torque converter seals?? That's the only other thing I can come up with. I'm fairly new to this machine and I'm just using it on the farm every now and then. If motor oil would work in the transmission I'd just drain some oil out of the engine periodically and not worry about it. Anyone know of an oil that's suitable for both the engine and transmission?

I think you could use 10W oil in the transmission, would be pretty light for engine this time of year. I don't know if you could use heavier oil in trany or not.

DWF

3 hours ago, DWF said:

I think you could use 10W oil in the transmission, would be pretty light for engine this time of year. I don't know if you could use heavier oil in trany or not.

DWF

When I went to the local komatsu dealer to get transmission oil, they sold me TO-30. They it was fine to use and was half the price of the 10w hy-trans. Not sure if TO-30 would be fine in the engine or not though.

Be more likely to be a rear crankshaft seal would it not, its about the only place where the transmission oil  could get to the engine oil, behind the flywheel and thru the seal.

• Rear crank seal, not to bad to replace, pull the torque converter and it's right there, you don't want trans fluid in the motor, way to much foreign material.  New seal will be like a speedy-sleeve with a metal ring for the crank.  

8 hours ago, R.D.G said:

Be more likely to be a rear crankshaft seal would it not, its about the only place where the transmission oil  could get to the engine oil, behind the flywheel and thru the seal.