Sign in to follow this  
7secondmalibu

1660 Auger Issues

This thing is driving me crazy!!   The auger goes in and out fine in the beginning of the day.  If I work in the field for a few hours it no longer retracts.  This is the 3rd or 4th time I had to leave it out in the field overnight.  The next morning I return, start the combine up and it retracts like there was nothing ever wrong.  At the end of the day, you can hear it laboring when I move the switch on the steering column. So it's not an electrical problem as far as the switches for the auger position, it's trying to move as you can hear it.  Auger is well lubed.  Like I said, the next day it simply returns like there never was a problem. 

I have 2 ideas... When I run all day and the hydraulic fluid heats up and either the valve grows and begins to stick or as it heats up the oil viscosity gets thinner and it leaks past the seal in the cylinder. The problem with the 2nd option is that it goes out fine.  So if the piston is an oring seal then that doesn't make sense.  If the piston has a double lip seal, maybe the lip seal on the return side is bad?

Again, end of the day you can hear it labor so to me electrically everything is fine.  Something mechanically is hanging it up.  I'm leaning towards the valve.  Any other ideas or things to check?  Problem is I'm done for the season so it's not like I can go run it for the day to check when it hangs up and see if I fixed it.

If it’s mounted with rod side hooked to auger it has twice the power to go out than it does pulling because of square inch difference in piston and rod side 

49 minutes ago, 7secondmalibu said: