I have just recently acquired and older dozer. It has been sitting for roughly 5 years. My question is about the magneto, this dozer starts and warms up on gas, and then switch to diesel. I do not have any spark coming out of the magento, and I am looking for a starting point for diagnosis. Machine will run I have pull started it with my tractor and the motor sounds great! But do not want to pull start everytime. Any advice is helpful!

Welcome aboard Matt

There is a switch that grounds the magneto when the changeover lever is in diesel ,sometimes they malfunction , Is the impulse coupling functioning on the

mag ?  The TD gas/diesel gurus will be along

The ground out wire for the mag is not hooked up. Previous owner seemed to have unhooked it. But I can see where the wire comes from on the intake manifold. I'm not sure what you mean by the impulse coupling, I'm very new to these machines and magentos. 

These older tractors were pretty much positive ground systems.  The impulse is a clicking sound the mag makes when turning the engine over with a crank or starter.  Points may be out of adjustment or just plain dirty.  Have you removed a plug to check for spark?  The spark plugs may be fouled or dirty and can be reset to .025 gap until you put new ones in if they look worn out.  

1 hour ago, oldscoutdiesel said:

These older tractors were pretty much positive ground systems.  The impulse is a clicking sound the mag makes when turning the engine over with a crank or starter.  Points may be out of adjustment or just plain dirty.  Have you removed a plug to check for spark?  The spark plugs may be fouled or dirty and can be reset to .025 gap until you put new ones in if they look worn out.  

Have not removed a plug. But did remove spark wire and hold it out from the cap. And did not see spark. Going to try and check points. I am going to assume the points are under the distributor cap?