Sign in to follow this  
Woodweller

Big Six Brake Drums

I'm new to this IH knowledge base, but I'm wondering about the situation with pre-1969 3/4 ton brake drums.  Realizing they are exceedingly rare (a website with IH parts is charging $1000 each!?), has any IH owning machinist ever come up with a way to sleeve old drums with a new wear surface?  We sleeve engine blocks with new cylinders, why not this?  A steel sleeve would have an expansion rate higher than an iron drum, so theoretically the sleeve should always expand to tighten into the drum rather than the drum expand to loosen around the sleeve.  A lathe to machine the drum and sleeve, an oven to expand the drum and a press and jig to press them together seems within reason.  Might drums crack?  Could sleeves rotate?  Are there ways around these problems to make them safe?  I may be way off somewhere and don't mind being enlightened, but it seems there's a market for $2-300 re-sleeved brake drums for those IH guys who are left with axle swaps as their only option.

I see no reason why a sleeve wouldn't work, Buick made aluminum drums for years with iron liners.

Good idea, and possibly pinned for extra safety. However, there's always that liability thing to deal with. Hate to say it, but always someone out there wanting to sue for no reason. Also, where's a guy get the cores?  Not sure there's too many of them around. I have a cple axles, didn't know they wanted so much for just the drums. Crazy

Mark

Our 93 K2500 Chevy has 13" X 3.5" rear drums.  Almost all the larger pickups until the late 90's had rear drums also. 

In the early 70's I had a 67 Cadillac (by far the best GM vehicle I ever owned) it still had 4 wheel drums, believe the fronts were aluminum drums with CI liners.  Never had a brake issue with the Caddy.

On 4/25/2018 at 12:46 PM, R Pope said:

I see no reason why a sleeve wouldn't work, Buick made aluminum drums for years with iron liners.