Sign in to follow this  
Ron Cook

Iowa DOT portable scales

Stopped yesterday afternoon for the first time in years.  Not worried.  Clipboard full of scale tickets of last two days.  Light 75,000, heavy 76,500.  Hauling from same farm, same bin of corn.  Air gauge in tractor indicated 34,000 on drivers.  Trailer is spring suspension, but loaded same as usual.  I have been doing this for 50+ years and using this same truck 11 years and trailer for 4.  Officer asked how heavy.  I replied that I was 75 to 76,000 more than likely.  He followed me from the farm I loaded at for 8 miles.  Never asked to see any tickets and said he would weigh my drivers, which he did.  Then my steer axle.  Then my trailer.  Well, it was on a nice level stop at an intersection and should be fine.  He comes to the cab and tells me it is a good thing I was trying to load 75 or six because had I been trying to load 79 I would have weighed 83000 as I was currently at 79000.  Have a nice day.  Dumbfounded me as this most certainly is not my first load and I can tell by the way the truck drives if I am getting close or past 80000.  Got to the elevator and find I weighed 77000.  Not very accurate portables, eh?  What if I was over by his portables?  Would have been more monkey business.  This officer even lives local.  I think he wanted some reports while the weather was okay instead of today in the crappy weather.  Have no idea why he told me wrong weights unless his scales or pencil are off.

Ron

Scales are accurate on the day they are calibrated. They become less accurate every time they are used from there. If his scales were just a few hundred pounds off, and the elevator was a thousand pounds off that would make the difference. 

I had to lighten the load before being allowed to move when I was found overweight. Was only a mile from the elevator and they came out with the payloader.