Letter Series at Work

I love Letter Series ! esp W series. I did a rough tally on the total production numbers of the Letter Series ( including Supers ) and its around 1,050,000 units made without the Cub . Yet there is a few  who just won't let up on them . ....whatever. What other series of tractor made by any company sold that many tractors. AND they were not cheap throwaways like some clunkers. I have been inside enough tractors to appreciate the quality and durability of these machines.  So I thought we could tell or show with pics what little job your Letter Series still does for you. If you hate them please start your own thread on why you don't care for them:blink:  I believe the Letter Series is what started the love we have for the red tractors. IH had such a presence in the rural culture in so many ways in that era

I am just a hobby farmer /collector with a Farmall 656D and 434d as my modern tractors ;)  I try to use a Letter Series if I have a job they can do. My favorite plow is a 8C - 2  ace bottom plow with a W4, sure makes for a smooth field if I have time.

Lets see what you have!

DSCI1661.JPG

• Replies 69
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

anyone else got a pic or two? I took my SW6 up for a load of corn late last summer and tried to get a scenic picture of Now and Zhen

Plowing snow with SM-TA Plow day with SM-TA and Super H SM-TA on auger duty with Super C in the background on the header cart. SM making north of 150 horse that my wife and I have had a

From this weekend.  L-R 1947 Super A, 1950 Super A with fast hitch #120 disk, and 1949 Farmall Cub with A-193 plow.   Al

Posted Images

Big thumbs up. The letter series is the refinement to the F series and regular the first row crop tractor. These paved the way to sell almost 6 million tractors by the mid '80s. I believe that is almost three times more than the closest competition did in the similar time