Tanker916

1952 I/H T6 Crawler Project

So I am a farm kid that went to all the tractor shows growing up and always wanted a crawler from the moment I saw one. Fast forward 16 years, 2 kids, and an active duty commission latter I now have the money to purchase one. I also want to get one in order for me and my son to have something to work on together.

Onto my experience, I was a M1A1 driver for several years while enlisted, since commissioning as a field artillery officer I have been assigned to tracked units. So one could say I am very familure with track drive systems. I also grew up on a farm and have decent experience working around and on tractors. That said I am by no means an expert, just someone that knows enough to get himself into trouble.

I came across this listing for a T6 and will be picking it up on the 18th. That said I would like to get the manual for it so I can start coming up with a plan on how to service it and begin the long process of getting it completely restored. Below is a link to the add;

http://www.tractorshed.com/cgi-bin/photoads/classifieds.cgi?search_and_display_db_button=on&db_id=592563&exact_match=on&photo_size=lrg&query=retrieval

With the information provided in the add could someone point me in the right direction for finding a PDF of the owner’s manual? When going through some of the older traffic I noticed people talking about a Z track link. I am not familure with this, could someone explain to me what it is and how the normal track links work? When you break track in the army it doesn't matter what link you start with is that no so with this type of track?

Also have no fear I have seen the previous traffic and will post lots of pictures when I get it.

Welcome Aboard Tanker Thank You for your service

Crawler/Dozer chain Have a master link , There is basically 2 different styles , One is a bolt together arrangement where the link is split diagonal (with interlocking teeth or keys) I call them "sawtooth")