Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

bradwiersma

How much tractor needed for 7 shank v ripper?

I have never pulled a ripper but spotted this one on an upcoming Auction. 3 pt , 7 shank IHC ripper. Will a 180 hp 2 wd tractor with duals handle this? It looks like it might be to much for that tractor but I thought I would ask. Does anyone have experience with this ripper, is it a good tool? Thanks for any help!

http://www.wiemanauc...roducts_id=9200

I have no personal experience with a v-ripper but a neighbor use to pull a 9 shk V with a IH 4586 4wd & it looked to be all the tractor wanted. My experiences are with in-line rippers. We currently pull a 7 shk in-line with a 425hp 4wd & don't have enough tractor for the tool. Before that pulled a 5shk with a MX 275 & got along good in most places.

Per any tillage tool, soil type & working depth will have a big factor in what your tractor can pull

You will be geared down and spinning all day long while raising and lowering the ripper to keep moving.

Yeah there is no way you can pull that with 180 HP 2 wd tractor at a depth that will do anything. The bad part about those old style "V-RIPPER" is there is no ground clearance when your using it if you have any trash at all they plug constantly, if i was you i would look for a newer style 5 shank with the verticle ripper shanks lot more clearance, pull alot easier, just my two cents from experience.

Hank

I run a 5 shank M&W 12 inches deep with 200 HP at 6 MPH. No cheating just smooth sailing. Other areas require less and more HP depending on your soils. We have a black sandy loam with 8 inches of top soil that compacts very easily. This past year after water standing in spots, I would have had trouble with a 3 shank.

jerry

I have a 4 shank CIH 2500 in line ripper that will stop my 200hp 5488 2wd with 20.8 42 rubber.