Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

silverta16

Why Did IH Make Hydro and Gear Drive?

I'm new to the larger tractors, so bear with me. I understand exactly what the gear drive tractors are and how they work, like the 1066 for example. It's my understanding they made a hydro version of nearly all the 66 series as well? Exactly how do these tractors work? Do they have a lever like a hydrostatic lawn mower? Silly question but does the clutch still stop the tractor, and the lever just determines the speed? How about reverse, did it have a seperate lever or did you pull the hydro back? Could anyone post some pics of the controls on a hydro model? Thanks in advance.

I've also heard and read that the hydro tractors are great bailing tractors, why?

When the series first came out there was the 966 Hydro and the 1066 Hydro. They only lasted a couple years until they were replaced by the Hydro 100.

Never had a hydro on a baler but did run a Hydro 86 a few times mowing ditches and it was a nice little setup. I think a 1066 Hydro with a 234 picker on it would be a corn eatin' machine ;) .

1974IHHayingAd.jpg

1975Hydro70Hydro100Ad.jpg

I'm new to the larger tractors, so bear with me. I understand exactly what the gear drive tractors are and how they work, like the 1066 for example. It's my understanding they made a hydro version of nearly all the 66 series as well? Exactly how do these tractors work? Do they have a lever like a hydrostatic lawn mower? Silly question but does the clutch still stop the tractor, and the lever just determines the speed? How about reverse, did it have a seperate lever or did you pull the hydro back? Could anyone post some pics of the controls on a hydro model? Thanks in advance.

I've also heard and read that the hydro tractors are great bailing tractors, why?