Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

tommyw-5088

anyone here goon on old cummins engines

12 posts in this topic

we have a older cummins engine in a versatile 850 tractor ,it has no aftercooler ,but is turbocharged ,im told it is a nh 250 ? ,how can i find out for sure what it actually is .i need to run the overhead and hook up the quick start feature , i think the quick start is a compression release. im a truck mechanic ,but this engine is before my time ,thanks for any help.

If it is the original engine it would be a NT855 - C280 , small cam etc . Is the cpl # on it yet , if it is not or it has been changed you are about on your own .

no the cpl plate is gone ,got the location of where the serial # is supposed to be but it is not there.

Tommy, I could easily be wrong but for some reason I didn't think the NHs were turbocharged. If you search around on the block the ESN should be stamped somewhere. Since this engine I'm sure was built well before I was born it would be neat to look up the specs. If you can find anything send me an IM and I see what I can find. Andy

do you have an idea where the esn might be located ,buddy that used to work at cummins said to check of the flywheel end of the block for a ledge ,i found the ledge ,but no # on it. do you know about the compression release ?. the engine is before my time too. thanks for the help

The only cummins I ever had with a compression release was a 220 , 743 cubic inch. It would have external fuel lines and if I remember right only 6 head bolts per head. If it was turbo'ed it would be a 262. A 250 could be turbo'ed and it would be a 270. I had one of those as a natural, but I don't recall it having a compression release. It was a 855 c.i.d. and had internal fuel lines. (fuel entered on the back side of the rear head)

Bigwheels

Tommy W

Look on fuel pump,there should be a tag,

or numbers stamped,it will tell size,and

engine model. NH series could be turbo