IH Dan

Pushing over Trees VS Digging out Stumps!

I have a 125E 1980 International Harvester with the regular bucket, not the 4 in 1 bucket.  I have trees and stumps to remove from a friends 5 acre property to improve his shooting range, while I have a 1 acre parcel of my own to clear once we close on the property.  I'm new with the machine.  When moving it for the first time to the friends who I'm going to improve his shooting range, I popped out two stumps, which seemed to go well, but I don't know hard it is on the machine.  Knowing that there are future trees to take down.  What is the best procedure to put the least wear and tear on "the beast"?  Other than knowing that, if there are stumps/trees needing removal.  What is the best procedures for both?  Picture of the beast is below.

Thank you in advance,

Dan

IMG_5029.JPG

IMG_5031.JPG

Of course it depends on the size of the trees!  Pushing them over gives you a lot more leverage and is easier on the machine generally.  You do have to be careful about knocking the top or tree limbs out on yourself.  Don'r ram them.  Push with the bucket up to apply leverage.  You can use the hydraulic down force from the loader to elevated the front of the machine and put great pressure on the tree.  If they are bigger trees do some digging first.  Be careful not to get high centered on the root ball as the tree falls over.

I've taken trees out with my TD-14 and it works well. Lot of stress on the machine. I've gone to an excavator for that work now. Works real good. So now you will just have to expand your herd and get an excavator.

TD14-003F.JPG

TD14-005F.JPG

IMG_7866.JPG

I've certainly done my share of stumps on my loader so here's my 2 cents: