Sign in to follow this  
Birdman

Opinions on tractor upgrade

I need a tractor for a 900 16rw planter, wondered what the popular suggestions are. Price range $20-$40K

7150 magnum, although a 92-9330 may be cheaper.

44 minutes ago, jass1660 said:

7150 magnum, although a 92-9330 may be cheaper.

Nice.... 

We bought a 900 12 row 30" vertical fold out of Iowa and the previous owner had a 1086 in front of it...

16 row wide is what about 50’ of planter?

40' wide. 16x30"=480"/12"=40'

Lol, I've been pulling mt 16 row planter with my little 3088 for the last two years. It would never pull it in conventionally tilled ground I'm sure but it chugs right along in my zero till. It's too hard on it though and I can't plant as fast as I'd like. Flat ground isn't too bad but my terraced fields give it a workout. Also considering I double plant everything to get 15" rows it's just too much of a work load on the little tractor. I'm not planning on doing it again for 2018. My 6788 gets used for sprayer duty already, I don't want to give it any more workload and put it on the planter. My 3088 isn't heavy enough for my 1200 gallon sprayer or I'd switch things around.

Birdman where are you located? There is a 7130 mfwd for auction on 11-11 near Liberty Center Ohio.

1 minute ago, hanniedog said:

Birdman where are you located? There is a 7130 mfwd for auction on 11-11 near Liberty Center Ohio.

I'm over in MO/KS, about 75 miles south of KC.

I won't go to an auction anyway, I hate auctions. Thanks for pointing it out though ;)

5 minutes ago, jass1660 said:

16 row wide is what about 50’ of planter?

16x36"=48'.  

5 minutes ago, billonthefarm said:

16x36"=48'.  

Lol, well he did say "about".