cwjones

IH gas 301 timing

Hello all. I am a newbie here and I have what I feel like is a simple question. Working on a gas 806 and I set the timing by ear and was pleased to only be off 2 degrees from book specs. The tractor likes to sputter when I rev it up. Doesn't seem to change much when it warms up or when cold. I was told that the engine timing shouldn't change whether at idle or wide open. Is this true? If so I have another issue because it changes about 15 degrees from idle to wide open. I took the distributor apart, cleaned and lubed the weights that seem to be free. What am I missing?

The weights that you cleaned are part of your mechanical advance --which will certainly change the timing (advance) as the motor

increases RPM's ,   Does your manual have  specs for base timing and high idle timing ?

look here engine timing 301 gas - General IH - Red Power Magazine Community

you didn't say what the 301 was out of but when you lubed the weights, you cold see the plate they were mounted to had a number stamped on it that was the degrees advance if it was a 15 that would be how much it should change. and yes you need the time to change as the rpm goes up

I don't recall the degrees of timing advance on the 301 in tractor or combine. BUT, the whole deal is that what ever the shaft is marked like previous poster said, is the degree the timing should be adjusted to AT FULL Throttle.  Working correctly, (which most old worn distributors don't) the timing would fire at or very close to top dead center with a low idle speed of about 500 rpm and gradually advance with engine speed until full advance was reached just before rated engine speed.  So, i'm betting it is 17 or 19 degree total advance on that engine.   

Sputtering can be caused by the plugs. New ones are not immune to it either.

The number on the distributor advance plate is the amount of distributor advance. If the number is 15 the total advance on the crankshaft will be 30°.