kis2

My Super M!

Hi all,

First post, thanks for having me!

Recently picked up my first tractor and its a Super M! We are the second family to own this tractor since 1953, which is pretty neat. All the gauges work, engine sounds great, hydro, 3pt, block heater...good stuff. needs new lights (I may wait to do a 12v conversion and then replace the lights), hydro some hydro leaks here and there I need to chase down (worst one looks like the bottom of the pan, probably just need to RVT it), but otherwise pretty solid! Planning on some general homestead work and snow plowing a flat driveway, got the rest of summer and fall to get it ready.

Like I said, I'm new to tractors, so I apologize in advance for the basic questions. I think I'll be in for new tires before the winter, reading around here seems like this is the size I want: https://simpletire.com/alliance-13.638-35710400-tires

I was going to upload some pictures of the tractor, but the forum doesn't seem to want to let me. I'll keep trying.

Thanks!

Very nice! Do you know if it was ordered with the wide front? Nothing like a family tractor. Do you have any documentation from when your family bought it or old photos?

A note on tires, the cheaper brands tend to last less than 10 years from most reports, usually suffering from severe cracking rather than tread wear. You might consider a Firestone or a Titan (they had issues in the past but have pledged that their new tires are cured). That being said, a lot of the farmers around here use Alliance, but they can run through tires in under 10 years.

Enjoy, my first purchased tractor also at 19yrs old.

thanks all!

and thanks for the heads up on tires rcb. Right now I'm budget tight, but we will see what happens before the winter. Those are the right size tire though right?

Tires are a personal prefrance, I have 14.9x38 firestore field & road with 6.50x16 fronts. Very happy with this set up for 30yrs.