#1 farmer 43

farmer 43

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Interests:trying to restore old farmalls

Posted 01 July 2012 - 11:40 PM

hi out there I am brand new to this forum. I am also new to tractor restoration. Getting right down to bussiness this past winter i rebuilt a super w6 engine and put in a farmall m. This project went relitivly well but i dont seem to have any charge out of my generator. It was rebuilt by a local dealer and after running the tractor at full rpm my gauge doesnt register anything. i can get a few good starts out of the battery but it doesent seem to maintane a charge. I relize 6 volt won't give you the same cranking power as 12 volt but it should sart the tractor every time. if any one has advise on this matter i am all ears.

thanks in advance.

#2 664 CDN

664 CDN

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,193 posts

Posted 02 July 2012 - 04:16 AM

Does it have a voltage regulator, or the cutout style that has a low & high charge position on the light switch?
Ray
664, I1206, F1256, F1456, F300, H, TD5, T20, U1 power unit.
510 sm plow, 70 plow, 415 roller mulcher, 1300 9ft mower, 2350 mount o matic loader, 990 haybine
Dad,s 1940 Farmall A

#3 hillman

hillman

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 520 posts
  • Interests:IH tractors in general, cars and life

Posted 02 July 2012 - 05:42 AM

take a jumper wire and touch the armature/gen terminal to power.it will momentarily spark.That polarizes the system and usually will make a system that has had something disconnected start charging

If it doesn't charge ground the field terminal on the regulator or right on the generator.Thats what the system requires for full output so watch the amp gauge to see if it works.if it doesn't charge with the fields grounded you have generator problems.If it charges you have regulator trouble.