repowering hough 30b with a 353 gm

12 replies to this topic

#1 oil can

oil can

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 30 April 2008 - 04:30 PM

Hi, A new member here from New Brunswick Canada. Just wondering what you guys think about repowering a hough 30b 263 gas with a 353 detroit diesel . Im pretty shure that its the same bellhousing (sae #2 )
Or 3, the flywheel would probably have to be a industrial one for the 353 . I think I would probably have to properly center the fiber gear for the torque converter and double check for the depth from the outer edge of the bellhousing . Im a welder for a living and have multiple machine tools, welders ect so thats o.k .The wix filter book lists the h30b as having this engine ??? I havent seen one .Then there is proper rpm , rotation ,ect .... What rpm would the gas engine turn ? I think i can have a 353 turn up to 2800 rpm .what are you r thoughts on this conversion ? I can get one of these engines . Thanks

#2 captain_crunch

captain_crunch

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,380 posts

Posted 30 April 2008 - 08:10 PM

Me Thinks you better have a light throttle foot the little GM might be a little too much snort
Don't be Fooled by Duals

#3 td14 addict

td14 addict

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 781 posts
  • Interests:old iron, cars trucks and tractors

Posted 30 April 2008 - 08:11 PM

welcome to the board!
i cant help you much with the repower, however, its nice to see some more maritimers joingin up, i live in Truro NS. where abouts in NB are you?
pictures of yuor machine would be nice. my father had a 50's hough (believed to be a HU) that was repowered to an IH truck engine when the 6Cyl Herculese quite.
im sure someone on here has delt with these loaders so im sure help will be along shortly.
thanks
Stefan
"It's not the size its how you use it, 14's over 18's any day"